Balloon of Life Day 15

Today we attached a poppy to Gideon’s balloon, as a symbol of remembrance of his own personal battle to live and to represent that his battle will never ever be forgotten. It was the last day we would be at his grave before his angel day, so we did it today and we just happened to have a poppy in the car from some remembrance day many years ago.

Gideon's Poppy

Happy Angel Day Little Man

Everything is planned for the big day. Sort of. Well I know what cake we are making him and how we are decorating it. Lots of deep breaths. Since my cycle could well be due to end on that day too, I could be due a lot of tears.

Talking of tears, I was getting a photo for todays “Gideon on this day” and I haven’t really got anything, only a couple of John and I with red eyes and blurred pictures, so I had to go back on my blog to that day to see what happened and why I have no real photos. Apparently it was this day they discovered he was having pretty serious seizures again, and his sats were dropping and staying low, they couldn’t bring them up again. They had to change his tube just to bring him back. This was where we began to understand that he wasn’t coming home.

So since I have no pictures of my sweet baby boy, I have two photos – one of me and one of John on that day.

Sadly, from here, the pictures of my boy make me cry, because I can see his deterioration as he slowly says goodbye and grows the wings he always deserved.

Leave a comment