Still Draining

I hoped to go home today but the drain in my neck drained 35ml of blood, 15ml overnight. So it has to stay in, and so do I. And I’m not best pleased about it. I want to go home. I don’t sleep well in hospitals. I finally fell asleep last night, pretty late, it’s so hard to get comfortable with two needles and one drain in. They put an extra needle in my wrist while I was under because my veins proved hard to find. So I can’t use either hand properly.

My kids will be disappointed I can’t come home too. But that is the life.

Weirdly I’m still numb on my left side, whatever local they gave me is good. It means I’ve not needed to take any painkillers. The wound feels very tight though. It’s quite uncomfortable. The last opposite me had the same surgery as me, but is struggling to keep her oxygen sats up, she was on a cannula all night and a mask now. My oxygen was low for several hours yesterday but only midly, so I should count myself as OK with my drain and over enthusiastic bleeding. And the wound looks surprisingly good considering.

Leave a comment